The Angry Future Expat

Ciao! The Angry Future Expat Is No More

Posted in debt, Swan Song by angryfutureexpat on August 4, 2010

About as true in 21st Century America as it was then

Well, I always said this blog would last until the lawsuits started hitting. And now they have.

I’ll keep my email active, and may pop up now and again, but the time has come to bid you all farewell.

With apologies to Pastor Martin Niemöller:

THEY CAME FIRST for the Subprime Borrowers,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Subprime Borrower.

THEN THEY CAME for the unemployed,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t unemployed.

THEN THEY CAME for the failed small business owners,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a failed small business owner.

THEN THEY CAME for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

You have a voice.  Use it.

Good luck to you all.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nando said, on August 4, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    That is one of my all-time favorite quotes. Others will carry the mantle, AFEP. Thank you for your contributions, in exposing the Higher Education Industrial Complex. I hope you at least keep the blog up, for posterity – so that future prospective college students can see what they are about to get themselves into. I love the aggressive nature of this site!

    Nando

  2. Anonymous said, on August 4, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I don’t know what’s going on, but do whatever you need to do to protect your legal rights. At least until you can get off this sinking ship.

    Good luck.

  3. HardKnocks said, on August 4, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I hope you blog again when you settle down in another country. Yes, take a break, settle all your affairs in the U.S., then leave. Please stay in touch and if you choose to close shop for good, you are always welcome to guest blog at BIDER.

  4. Anonymous said, on August 4, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    What happened??

  5. dupednontraditional said, on August 4, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    This is a sad day, but it was inevitable, I suppose, as a part of our national race to the bottom. Thank you for your voice. As we continue to destroy the middle class and turn our clocks back to the 16th century (and prior), I wish you well, AFEP, in your future endeavors. God help us all.

  6. Demosthenes said, on August 4, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    It was a pleasure, good luck & via con dios.

  7. Chris said, on August 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    And once again, the banksters win another one.

  8. medicinesux said, on August 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Going out angryfutureexpat style….the ultimate F U. So sad to see you go. Knew it was coming but oh too soon. Always enjoyed reading your entries and found them really insightful. What a view you will have from your lifeboat watching the rest of us on this sinking Titanic drown into the abyss.

  9. Anonymous said, on August 5, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Hopefully you can still blog when you settle down…………I enjoyed this site

    Good Luck

  10. Knute Rife said, on August 5, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I’m assuming you’ve been with a mess of lawsuits. BK works, you know.

  11. W.C. Varones said, on August 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Please elaborate. Are they suing you over what you’ve written here, or over your debts.

    I’d love to get the word out if this is a SLAPP suit.

    You’re always welcome over at the WCV blog. Please stay in touch.

  12. Bukko Canukko said, on August 7, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Vaya con Dios! Remember, it is better to run and live than stand and be stomped. Who won in Vietnam — the sneaky guerrillas who shot and disappeared, or the forthright soldiers who held their ground until their country was exhausted. (Cue Afghanistan reprise.) The graveyards are full of brave men who took it on the chin, and the bars are full of agile dodgers who are drinking and laughing.

  13. Anonymous said, on August 9, 2010 at 7:30 am

    “Who won in Vietnam — the sneaky guerrillas who shot and disappeared, or the forthright soldiers who held their ground until their country was exhausted.”

    I like that so much I’m stealing it.

    It’s time to raise the jolly roger and fuck the man where it hurts: the wallet.

    And unfortunately student loans aren’t dischargable in bankruptcy unless you meet almost impossible requirements, which I can’t remember this early. Ah, here’s some words about [url=http://www2.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/DCS/loan.cancellation.discharge.html]them[/url] .

    If they were I wouldn’t have discovered this blog because I would have declared it years ago.

    Fuck the man.

    • Bukko Canukko said, on August 11, 2010 at 2:38 am

      Glad you liked the line. I thought the one about agile dodgers in the bars was better, though. It’s what I aspire to!

  14. NO WAY ABA said, on November 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    This group is for those who believe the US Department of Education should strip the American Bar Association of its accreditor status.
    NO WAY ABA! STRIP THE ABA OF IT ACCREDITOR STATUS! STOP THE OVERSUPPLY OF LAWYERS!
    On facebook, check out the page: NO WAY ABA
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001885560184#!/pages/NO-WAY-ABA/157102307664191?v=info

  15. W.C. Varones said, on June 5, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Hope you are well in some tropical paradise. Drop us a line some time.

  16. mad bag lady said, on July 16, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Just came across the blog and have found several blogs just like this one that have been shut down or are no longer being updated (perhaps for the same reason?) It’s a shame. Perhaps you can start (or already have) started a new blog under a new name. Of course, you need to look out for your own safety, but I hope you don’t give up on the rest of us. We need to hit a critical mass. BTW, I too would like to leave the country, but haven’t found a way to do so…yet.

  17. Anonymous said, on November 9, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Great blog. Thank you for being part of America’s wake up call.

  18. An Expat said, on February 24, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Of course they want to shut up the voice of reason. :(

  19. black hound said, on July 23, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Just happened upon your late blog. Thank you for saying and bloggin what needs saying. Were I to take an interest in blogging, I would have said the very same things myself. I’m considering beoming a Student Loan Expariate, but I guess until they start garnishing my wages, I’ll ride out the storm as best I can.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

